login | Register

Nashville 48

by: Honey Blue

Album Artwork

(Paper Boat Records)

Honey Blue's latest EP, Nashville 48, was recorded in Nashville during April 2011. This collection serves as a natural progression to the group's debut release Broken Places. These songs were recorded in 48 hours at producer Eric McConnell's (Jack White, Loretta Lynn, Col. Bruce Hampton, Todd Snider, Greg Hester & Old Crow Medicine Show) Nashville Studio.

On Nashville 48 Honey Blue's players included Jared Kuykendall, Marc Andress, Ryan Horn, Brian "Preacher" Chappell and Ashley Henry. The band recently added a new drummer Chris Morgan, which spawns a new dynamic to Honey Blue since this EP recording. For this session, the band used no headphones and everything was recorded live. Honey Blue has been nominated in the Americana category for the 2012 Georgia Music Awards. They will play the Spring Fest during March 22-25.

Kuykendall penned three of these four tunes. Nashville 48 commences with "Bedfellow", a quiet acoustic number that tells a tale of seasons changing and ebbing emotional ties. "Saturday Stranger" emits a Buffalo Springfield echo and all the elements of the band coalesce and contends as one of the sessions strongest tracks. Andress' pedal steel playing provides a lush sonic landscape to this country-flavored number. The final song "Radio", composed by Andress, showcases his voice that resembles Vic Chesnutt at his most emotive.

Nashville 48 proves Honey Blue is searching for mystical musical answers on the golden road...

James Calemine


Honey Blue: Broken Places

Solar Flare Blues 2012

related tags

Mystery and Manners,


Please login or you can to leave a comment.

If you aren't registered, Register Now to start leaving comments.

Copyright 1998-2018 by Swampland Inc. All rights reserved.