login | Register

Let's Start Something

by: Rob Roy Parnell

Album Artwork

(Blue Rocket Records)

Rob Roy Parnell has got that Texas Roadhouse thing goin’ on big time, and his new album - his first in nine years - Let’s Start Something, rocks from beginning to end with a Fabulous Thunderbirds meets Delbert McClinton vibe. Rob Roy’s vocals are great and his harp blowing is top flight. It’s a rockin' mix of blues, R&B, boogie woogie, and soul music with that undeniable Texas edge. Recorded with members of Delbert McClinton's band, Let's Start Something also features musical contributions from guitarists Stephen Bruton and Lee Roy Parnell, Rob Roy's brother, as well as vocalists Jay Boy Adams (friend and collaborator with the late George McCorkle) and Jonell Mosser.

Rob Roy’s musical career spans three decades. Recognized as one of America's premiere harmonica players, Parnell toured with brother Lee Roy during the 1990s. At home in Austin, Texas, Parnell has honed a successful career of playing throughout Texas and the Southeast. Writing great songs in addition to his strong vocals, Parnell created 10 of the 12 songs on the new album. Let's Start Something also includes two cover songs, Parnell's versions of Percy Mayfield's "Loose Lips" and Roy Brown's "Lollipop Mama." Rob Roy also produced the album, which rocks the house with songs like “If Mama Ain’t Happy,” “Texas Love Machine,” and “Long Distance Love,” a great track that features a guest appearance by Lee Roy on slide guitar.

If you like some honest to God Texas roadhouse boogie woogie, look no further. This one will have you tapping your feet and heading toward the Chevy to drive down to a juke joint and dance the night away. It’s all good stuff.

-Michael Buffalo Smith

related tags



Please login or you can to leave a comment.

If you aren't registered, Register Now to start leaving comments.

Copyright 1998-2018 by Swampland Inc. All rights reserved.